Apple announced an AI assistant for Logic Pro for Mac on October 27, 2026. The beta can start a new song, set up a vocal track from a single prompt, guide production workflows and refine an open project. It arrives in November as a free update for Apple Creator Studio subscribers and needs macOS 27 on an Apple Intelligence Mac, in U.S. English only. We have not used it yet; the details below come from Apple's announcement and product pages.
Last checked: October 28, 2026
What did Apple announce for Logic Pro?
Apple announced the assistant for Logic Pro for Mac as one item in a wider Apple Creator Studio announcement. Apple describes it as "powered by a combination of Apple-built and third-party models" and lists four jobs for it. The four jobs, in Apple's words:
"...helping creators and producers navigate production workflows, start a new song, set up a vocal track from a single prompt, or refine an active project." (Apple Newsroom, October 27, 2026)
The same November update brings four more changes to Logic Pro. The Browser will hold loops, instruments and effect patches in one place, with an on-device "music understanding" tool that tags your sounds and lets you drag in a loop to find matching audio; Apple says it also includes a Splice library. Stem Splitter will be able to isolate, replace or rebalance drum parts without the original multitracks. The Mac and iPad apps will get the Liquid Glass design, and users will be able to unlock a Producer Pack from salsa producer Sergio George.
Is it called Logic Pro 13?
Apple's announcement refers to the app only as "Logic Pro for Mac." Apple's support page still lists Logic Pro for Mac 12.4 as the version in Creator Studio. The "Logic Pro 13" name comes from press coverage: Synth Anatomy reports that an Apple employee told it the release is Logic Pro 13. Until Apple uses the number itself, treat "Logic Pro 13" as the press name for the November update.
What has Apple said about the assistant, and what is still unknown?
Here is what Apple confirms and what it leaves open:
| Question | What Apple's pages say |
|---|---|
| What can it do? | The four jobs quoted above |
| Which AI models? | "Apple-built and third-party models" (no partner named for Logic) |
| Which devices? | Logic Pro for Mac only |
| Status | Beta |
| Does it write MIDI parts or generate audio? | Not stated |
| Does it run on-device or in the cloud? | Not stated (only the Browser's music understanding is described as on-device) |
| Usage limits | Not stated for Logic Pro |
Some coverage says the Logic assistant uses OpenAI. In Apple's text, OpenAI is named only for the Keynote, Pages and Numbers assistant ("built on Apple models and OpenAI"); for Logic it says "third-party models." For turning a recorded part into notes today, the audio to MIDI guide covers Logic's built-in options.
What do you need to run the Logic Pro assistant?
Apple's footnote lists the requirements for the beta:
- Operating system: macOS 27 Golden Gate or later.
- Mac: one that supports Apple Intelligence.
- Language: U.S. English only.
- App: Logic Pro for Mac. The iPad app gets the new design, but Apple's announcement mentions the assistant only for Mac.
Apple's footnotes list macOS 26.1 or later and a Mac with Apple silicon for Logic Pro for Mac itself, and the stricter macOS 27 and Apple Intelligence requirement for the assistant only. If your Mac cannot run Apple Intelligence, check the November update notes to see which of the other new features it can use.
How much does it cost, and do one-time buyers get it?
Apple lists these U.S. prices:
| Option | Price (U.S.) |
|---|---|
| Apple Creator Studio, monthly | $12.99 |
| Apple Creator Studio, yearly | $129 |
| Education plan | $2.99 per month or $29.99 per year |
| Logic Pro one-time purchase | $199.99 |
Existing Creator Studio subscribers get the November update at no extra cost. Whether the one-time $199.99 version gets the assistant is not clear yet. Apple's Logic Pro page says Logic Pro and MainStage "have all the same features whether they are subscription or one-time-purchase versions," while the Creator Studio page says the bundle "includes intelligence features that are exclusive to subscribers." Apple has not said whether owners of the $199.99 standalone version will receive the assistant. If you own the one-time version, read the update notes in November before you subscribe for this feature.
How does it compare with Logic Pro's existing AI tools?
Logic Pro already has several AI features. The assistant adds a prompt-based way to operate the app on top of them:
| Tool | What it does (per Apple) | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Session Players | Lay down synth, bass, keyboard and drum grooves | Shipping |
| Stem Splitter | Separates drums, bass, vocals, guitar, piano and other instruments | Shipping |
| Stem Splitter drum parts | Isolate, replace or rebalance drum parts | November update |
| Mastering Assistant | Listens to your track and helps get your project ready for release | Shipping |
| Browser with music understanding | Tags your sounds on-device; drag in a loop to find matches | November update |
| Intelligent assistant (beta) | Starts songs, sets up vocal tracks, refines projects from prompts | November update |
ChromaGlow and Chord ID are also on Apple's list of current AI features. For drums, the practical change is that a full drum stem from Stem Splitter will no longer be the end point; you will be able to work on parts of the kit. If you are not on Logic, a browser tool such as the RaoMusic stem separator does the basic split into vocals, drums, bass and other parts, without the new drum-part controls.
What if you want AI to make the music itself?
Apple's description of the assistant is about operating Logic: starting projects, setting up a vocal track and refining a project. Apple has not described it as a text-to-song generator, so a finished vocal track from a text prompt still needs a text-to-music service. RaoMusic is one option: you can generate a full song in Create from a description, split it into stems and bring the parts into Logic Pro.
The guide to importing AI stems into a DAW has Logic Pro import steps for keeping stems in sync. There is no announced link between RaoMusic and Logic Pro; the workflow is to export stems from one and arrange and mix them in the other.
Frequently Asked Questions
Apple has only said the Creator Studio updates come to the App Store "this November." It has not published a day, so check the App Store or Apple's Logic Pro release notes during November.
Apple says new Creator Studio subscribers get a one-month free trial, and buyers of a new Mac or qualifying iPad can get three months free. Your Mac still has to meet the assistant's requirements.
Apple says up to six family members can share the apps and content in Apple Creator Studio through Family Sharing. Each person still needs a Mac that meets the assistant's requirements.
Apple's Creator Studio page says "Projects in Final Cut Pro, Logic Pro, and Pixelmator Pro remain on all your devices" and "To open or edit a project, you need to be an active subscriber." Apple's support page adds that the subscription and one-time versions of Logic Pro can both be installed on the same Mac.
Apple's announcement says the new MCP support "enables external AI agents and tools to read content, perform edits, and execute automated actions directly in Keynote, Pages, and Numbers." Logic Pro is not in that list.
